Skip Navigation

National Resource Center for Youth Services

Oklahoma Successful Adulthood Program (OKSA)

SERVICES FOR YOUTH, YOUNG ADULTS, AND THOSE WORKING WITH THEM TO SUPPORT SUCCESSFUL TRANSITION OUT OF FOSTER CARE AND INTO ADULTHOOD

The University of Oklahoma National Resource Center for Youth Services contracts with the Oklahoma Department of Human Services, Child Welfare Services, to implement the Oklahoma Successful Adulthood (OKSA) program. The program provides training and consultation, conference and event coordination, and statewide support to child welfare staff, tribal staff, resource parents, and contractors working with youth and young adults. These services prepare workers to support young people in preparation for transition to adulthood. In addition, OKSA coordinates the Yes I Can! program, which provides services and resources directly to OKSA eligible youth and young adults.  

The OKSA mission is to empower youth in and from foster care to lead safer, healthier, more independent and productive lives. 


Go to the OKSA Website

OKSA Services

NRCYS provides the following activities and services as part of the OKSA program:

  • Development and coordination of statewide youth events including seminars, experiential life skills groups, regional learning events, and an annual teen conference
  • Development and coordination of adult training to enhance and promote effective services for OKSA-eligible youth
  • Technical support for the state regarding the National Youth in Transition Database (NYTD), which collects information and statistics to help measure the effectiveness of programming for youth transitioning to adulthood
  • Coordination of the Yes I Can! program, which provides a variety of support to young adults who have transitioned out of DHS or tribal custody
  • Coordination of the Oklahoma Foster Youth Advocates (OKFYA), which promotes young adult speakers, trainers, and consultants in system improvement

OKSA Collaborative Events

List View
EventDateLocation 
Using Interactions to Create Supportive Space and Motivate ChangeSeptember 11–12, 2019Tulsa, OK
Talking Sex: Taboo Says WhoSeptember 18, 2019Tulsa, OK
Catch the WaveSeptember 19, 2019Tulsa, OK

OKSA Staff

Falen LeBlanc
Assistant Director
fleblanc@ou.eduEmail
Edgar O'Neal
Senior Program Development Specialist
eoneal@ou.eduEmail
Robbie Wheet
Senior Program Development Specialist
rwheet@ou.eduEmail
Amanda Aunko
Program Development Specialist
aaunko@ou.eduEmail
Sabrina Brown
Program Development Specialist
sabrina.brown@ou.eduEmail
Shannon Fair
Program Development Specialist
shannon.fair@ou.eduEmail
Melissa Gunckel
Program Development Specialist
mgunckel@ou.eduEmail
Rebeca Hayes
Program Development Specialist
rebeca.hayes@ou.eduEmail
Susan Hull
Information Technology Analyst
susanhull@ou.eduEmail
Laura Osbun
Program Development Specialist
losbun@ou.eduEmail
Angie Rogers
Program Development Specialist
angie.rogers@ou.eduEmail
Theresa West
Program Development Specialist
twest@ou.eduEmail

Learn More

For more information about OKSA and the services it provides, visit the OKSA website.

To learn more about how NRCYS can bring our experience in program development and other services for transition-aged youth to your organization, please contact us at (800) 274-2687 or email us at nrcys@ou.edu.

The University of Oklahoma OUTREACH National Resource Center for Youth Services
Schusterman Center 4502 E. 41st St., Bldg 4W, Tulsa OK 74135-2512 | (800) 274-2687

© 2019 National Resource Center for Youth Services     •     The University of Oklahoma is an Equal Opportunity Employer